Concord, North Carolina (July 9, 2019) – After a week off to celebrate the fourth of July holiday, championship leading driver, Michael Self (No .25 Sinclair Oil Toyota) and the ARCA Menards Series return to action this weekend in the Menards 200 at Elko Speedway on Saturday, July 13.

Elko Speedway, the shortest track on tour is a 3/8-mile asphalt bullring known for door-to-door racing and delivering dramatic finishes. This weekend’s event marks Self’s first ever appearance at the Minnesota short track and the ARCA Series’ sixth overall appearance since 2012.

Already a three-time winner in 2019, Self has two short track wins to his credit as he drove to victory lane earlier in the season at Five Flags Speedway and Salem Speedway.

“I’m usually not a huge fan of the short tracks,” Self admits, “but I’m actually really looking forward to Elko. I’ve watched a couple of the past races there as well as some on-board footage and the track just reminds me so much of the places we raced out west in the K&N series. Roseville, Colorado National, I-44, Stockton, and the Vegas Bullring were all 3/8-mile tracks that were on the schedule at some time when I was running it, so those are the tracks that really formed my stock car racing roots.”

Coming off a fourth-place finish two weeks ago at Chicagoland Speedway, Self returns to the track with a 35-point advantage in the championship driver point standings over competitor Bret Holmes. Sixty-percent through the season Saturday night’s race will mark the 13th event of the year.

Self will make his 32nd career start Saturday night at Elko Speedway. Throughout his career he’s notched six wins, 19 top-five and 19 top-10 finishes to go along with five pole position starts.

Self, 28, will join Venturini Motorsports’ teammates Christian Eckes, Chandler Smith and Hailie Deegan at Elko. VMS has one team win at Elko Speedway (Brennan Poole ’12) and two General Tire Pole Awards (Justin Haley ’14 and Christian Eckes ’18).

The ARCA Menards Series returns to action on Saturday July 13 in the Menards 250 at Elko Speedway. Practice at Elko Speedway is set for 2:15 pm ET/1:15 pm CT, General Tire Pole Qualifying is scheduled for 6:15 pm ET/5:15 pm CT, and the 250-lap feature event will go green shortly after 10 pm ET/9 pm CT. The race will be televised live on MAVTV.